Union Jack

Thomas Bürkle
+49 511 / 6342201

Online Shop

About Hannover

Deutsch Nederlands Francais Espagnol italiano portuguese norwegian japanese svenska polski russian chinese dansk korean turkish eesti arabic suomi

Press Area


Top-Events, Nightlife and more – keep in touch with Hannover on Facebook.

recently modified:


Schönberg's String Quartets

Playing all of Arnold Schönberg's string quartets needs some time - on 27 September at the Herrenhausen Orangerie about six and a half hours (with four breaks).

This evening could be called “Planet Schoenberg”. A journey through the changing manycoloured landscapes of Arnold Schoenberg's string quartets. In these works, as if under a magnifying glass, we can experience the many stylistic changes that constitute Schoenberg's unique position in the music of the twentieth century.
Schoenberg's string quartets, composed between 1897 and 1936, reflect a creative process riven with radical breaks. They are the sonic testimony to an impressive love of experimentation that resulted in the occasional musical scandal. Their musical language ranges from the Romantic models of Brahms and Dvorák to the two last quartets, with their radical modernity not only based on Schoenberg's invention of twelvetone composition.
But above all the Quartet No. 2, op. 10 marks a musical turning point comparable only to Beethoven's Ninth Symphony. Through the inclusion of the human voice and two poems by Stefan George, the more introverted quartet form gains a new level of expression and opens the doors for the first time to free atonality.

With Quatuor Diotima

Violin Yun-Peng Zhao, Constance Ronzatti / Viola Franck Chevalier / Violoncello Pierre Morlet / Sopran Sarah Maria Sun / Viola Miguel da Silva / Violoncello Victor Julien-Lafferrière

Event(s): 27.09.2020 starting from 15:00 o'clock

Galerie Herrenhausen

  • Herrenhäuser Straße 3a
  • 30419 Hannover
13-47 Euro plus fees discounted from 6,50 Euro plus fees
Advance sale:
Blick in den schmuckvollen Hauptsaal der Galerie Herrenhausen © Hassan Mahramzadeh