Online Shop

About Hannover

Deutsch Nederlands Francais Espagnol italiano portuguese norwegian japanese svenska polski russian chinese dansk korean turkish eesti arabic suomi

Press Area


Top-Events, Nightlife and more – keep in touch with Hannover on Facebook.

recently modified:

31th International Competition for Choreographers

This year it will be for the 31th time, that aspiring choreographers will be invited to Hanover.

These are the competition guidelines:

All participants, choreographers and dancers, ought to have professional training.

Choreographers must be 35 or younger. The competition is open to any kind of style. Evaluation is based exclusively on imaginative use of space and time, the realisation of an idea, and its transfer onto the performers.

The duration of the performance, have to be between 5 and 12 minutes. A solo-ballet may not be interpreted by the choreographer him/herself.

The applicant is free in his choice of subject and music. A PAL-DVD (Video) of the choreographic work must be delivered to the organisers. The DVD may only contain the choreography to be performed in the competition. Alternatively is a video/Internet-link possible.

A prejury will select a maximum of 20 the submitted works, which will enter the contest. The artistic director of the jury is Nanine Linning, Director Dance Company Nanine Linning/Theater Heidelberg.

Jury 2017

  • Stephen Delattre, Director Delattre Dance Company
  • Eric Gauthier, Director Gauthier Dance // Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart
  • Kevin Haigen, Artistic Director Bundesjugendballett
  • Nanine Linning, Dance Company Nanine Linning/Theater Heidelberg
  • Johannes Öhmann,  Director Royal Swedish Ballet
  • Garry Stewart, Director Australian Dance Theatre
  • Richard Wherlock, Director Ballett Basel
  • Ed Wubbe, Director Scapino Ballett, Rotterdam etc.

Prejury 2017

  • Marguerite Donlon, Independent Choreographer and Artistic Director DDC.
  • RD1st Coach and Mentor 
  • Dirk Elwert, Fachvermittler Tanz der ZAV Künstlervermittlung
  • Nanine Linning, Dance Company Nanine Linning/Theater Heidelberg


A total sum of 13.500.- EUR in prize money, as well as three production awards will be awarded.

1st prize = 6.000.- EUR

2nd prize = 3.000.- EUR

3rd prize = 2.000.- EUR


Audience award 1.000.- EUR

Award of the critics: 1.500.- EUR

NEW:Delattre Dance Company Award: 

The winner will receive the opportunity to present the choreography shown in the competition in a production of the Delattre Dance Company with the dancers of the DDC in Mainz. Artistic Director and Choreographer Stéphen Delattre has founded the DDC in 2012. Stéphen Delattre has received the "Critic's Prize" at the International Choreographic Competition Hanover in 2010.

Tanja Liedtke Scholarship

On the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the International competition for choreographers in Hanover, the Tanja Liedtke Foundation will donate a three week‘s scholarship at the Australian Dance Theatre in Adelaide, Australia. This Prize will be awarded by Garry Stewart, Director of The Australian Dance Theatre. The scholarship includes travel costs, accomodation, and ADT tuition.

Scapino Production Award

Since 2005 Ed Wubbe awards the Scapino production award. The award includes the development of an unique choreography with dancers from Scapino Ballet and the presentation in the series TWOOLS.

Since 2012: Bundesjugendballett Production Award

The Bundesjugendballett was founded by John Neumeier in  2011. Since 2012 the Bundesjugendballett  also sponsors a production award. Part of the award is the development of a choreography with the Bundesjugendballett.

Production Award Gauthier Dance // Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart

In 2014 Eric Gauthier offered for the first time the Production Award Gauthier DanceDance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart. Gauthier Dance was founded in 2007. Eric Gauthier has been awarded the German Dance Prize »Future« 2011 for choreography.

Applications are due by April 22nd, 2017

Event(s): 17.06.2017 starting from 15:18 o'clock
from 14:30 to 18:00 o'clock

Theater am Aegi

  • Aegidientorplatz 2
  • 30159 Hannover